Putting Pearl to Pasture

As someone famous for dealing with the Minnesota cold by driving the three blocks to school, I figured it was about time I evened out my carbon footprint and started walking to work.

Rather like these svelte looking power walkers. No, really!

Here is why I like walking to work:
1. It wakes me up in the morning
2. I get 40 extra minutes of free exercise in every day
3. I avoid unpredictable traffic (meaning I’m on time every day) and the crazy junior college kids just waiting to bash up my car
I also have a roommate I happen to work with, so it’s a nice chance to catch up. Even when I walk alone, it’s a good time to call people – no hands free bluetooth whatever required.

Mind you, it’s still a struggle, and a bit of a rush getting out by 7:40 every morning. Soon I will need to buy galoshes or something for the rainy season.

Live too far to commute on foot? Check out the places you can walk to at Walkscore!
Get great free widgets at Widgetbox!

Leave a Reply

