How to Apply for a Green Job

It’s been a slower-than-usual week for green job postings, so I thought I’d post my humble two cents about how to apply for a green job.

This is from my own unique perspective with only a couple of years’ peripheral hiring experience, so take this with appropriate amounts of salt. I’m mostly just really lucky to have a job right now. There is nothing I know that is rocket science, and there is a lot that I don’t know.

Even so, I know so many people who could use an encouraging word or a leg up right now, and I wanted to throw this out there on the off chance it will help somebody great get hired (aka, you).

1. Show your environmental interest. Past work experience, volunteer experience… if you got it, then bring it to the top of your resume. As a side note, I like hearing about projects in college better than I like hearing about college courses.

2. Prove you have the skills needed for the job. If it’s sales, highlight your customer service experience. If it’s writing, show your marketing and writing experience. If it’s a job working with businesses, show that you have experience working at or working for businesses.

3. Know about the politics of the place you are applying. Avoid walking into political land mines. You may want to emphasize or de-emphasize experiences on certain sides of the aisle.

4. Volunteer for environmental projects and attend environmental events. Familiar faces are more hire-able faces. 

5. As is the case in other job arenas, typos, formatting errors, and procedural gaffes (writing to the wrong person, etc.) can take focus away from you, the candidate. Ask friends, family, and mentors to read over resumes and cover letters.

6. Be patient. All this comes with the caveat that things are just bad right now, and you are probably doing everything right, even if you haven’t yet been hired. The job for you will come, and soon. My last job search took 8 months, over 100 cover letters, a dozen interviews, and a cross-country move… and that was before things got bad.

How about you – do you have job search tips, green jobs or otherwise?

2 Comments »

  1. Great points, Jenn! As a recruiter with 8 years of experience, I’d agree on most of them, especially point #6. Candidates often lose focus and start to get depressed and next thing you know, they aren’t performing well in job interviews. My #7 point would be this:

    Think of every interview as practice. After the interview sit in your car and do an analysis of the interview. What questions were you prepared for? Which ones weren’t you prepared for? How could you do better next time?

    Above all, never let them see you sweat! As soon as you show desperation, depression, or negativity, you might as well consider your interview done. (Not trying to be snotty…it’s just that there’s bound to be a more positive and equally qualified candidate out there and if I were hiring, I’d be willing to wait for that one.)

    I’m sure I could provide even more tips as it’s a topic I’m passionate about, but I’ll stop there 🙂

  2. Jenn said

    Yes! Thank you for your post, and good advice. I didn’t know you had so many years as a recruiter..! Here’s hoping we see everyone we know and like hooked up with a green job in the near future.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

