“Next week, your lucky color will be green.” — Fortune Cookie I Ate This Morning

My mom, dad, and boss have now all told me they’ve found my blog. Hi everybody! I promise not to say anything embarrassing, or politically incendiary! (Except that I’m super-duper excited that Vallay Moua Varro won the St. Paul School Board special election on Tuesday! But that’s not incendiary, that’s just exciting. Unless you’re Pat Igo.)

So, after much ado, we have downsized successfully! Well, sort of. We’re done with the furniture part of moving, at least, and have made dozens of trips to Goodwill and Half Price Books (three duffel bags full = $20 cash!). The whole house makes more sense. No more drafty walls. No more broken windows. No more $170 Xcel bills. No more random crap we never use. Well… or at least, less random crap we never use.

One of the joys of living in Lowertown that I hadn’t anticipated: I can walk to the St. Paul Farmer’s Market and buy bread, cheese, eggs, and any number of amazing fruits and vegetables (squash! cranberries! hello Thanksgiving!). Oh, and cups of Peace Coffee for $1.75. Did I mention coffee? I don’t know why I wasn’t counting this as a huge benefit to living here. I was fretting a little bit over grocery shopping – the closest grocery store is across the river in the west side – but now am excited about the produce literally at my front door. It’s open both in the summer and in the winter! Awesome!

Speaking of awesome, walking to work on the skyways is freaking awesome. I worked from home yesterday to take care of my boyfriend, who had his wisdom teeth out… (I am happy I took care of this as a young and fearless 17-year-old. And am doubly happy I was able to be unconscious. Ugggh.). I walked 5 minutes to get my laptop from my office, then walked back over in the afternoon for a meeting… I didn’t have to pay for parking or wait for the bus. I don’t know how possible it will be for me to live near where I work for the rest of my life, but this convenience is going to be tough to give up. Commuting is a waste of life!

Although.. I confess. I do miss the bus. Tons of busses go right by our living room windows and I can’t help but try to see who is riding and wonder if they’re talking to each other and what they’re saying. What stories will I have to tell from my commute now? Apart from the drunk guy passed out in Park Square Court on Sunday, I haven’t had anything interesting happen between home and work yet. No old man on the bus telling every woman, “You’re gorgeous,  you’re gorgeous, your gorgeous,” no overhearing teachers agreeing to buy cigarettes for their 14-year-old students, no getting stuck in the snow trying to get a several ton bus up the hill on John Ireland (funnest day of bus riding EVER, when all 30 of us on the bus ran from one stuck 21 to the other in 4′ high snow right outside the Cathedral). And certainly no more commuter friends, like Ecolab woman and pretty quilted purse woman and tall silent newspaper man. I do feel wistful. I’m not even being sarcastic. But one thing’s for sure: I will NOT miss grumpy Santa Claus, the white haired bearded driver of the 7:44 65.

And there have been so few green jobs posted in the last week that I’ll just include them here, as an awkward appendage to this entry:

Dodge Nature Center

Environmental Education Intern ($145/wk, 20 hours/wk, West St. Paul)

University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum

Adult Education Coordinator ($45-52k/yr, Chaska)

And now, I am going back outside to enjoy the fantastic weather! By which I mean, going to go continue moving the rest of our stuff. Have a great weekend, everybody!

Leave a Reply

